New Jersey Family Leave Act (FLA)
The New Jersey Family Leave Act entitles certain employees to take up to 12 weeks of family leave in a 24-month period without losing their jobs. With some exceptions, employers must provide this type of leave if:
- The EMPLOYER has at least 50 employees (or at least 30 employees as of June 30, 2019), or is a government entity, regardless of size.
- The EMPLOYEE has worked for that employer for at least one year, and has worked at least 1,000 hours during the last 12 months.
- The LEAVE OF ABSENCE is being taken to care for or bond with a child within 1 year of the child’s birth or placement for adoption or foster care, OR to care for a family member, or someone who is the “equivalent” of family, who has a serious health condition.
Note that the New Jersey Family Leave Act does not provide leave for the employee’s own health condition.