Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)
If your employer has 25 or more employees, you could qualify for protected leave under the Oregon Family Leave Act. That means you are allowed by law to take protected time off to take care of yourself or family members. To be eligible, you must have worked an average of 25 hours per week for 180 days - just 180 days for parental leave. Your employer must have at least 25 employees Under OFLA, you can take up to a total of 12 weeks* of time off per year for any of these reasons.
- Parental leave (either parent can take time off for the birth, adoption, or foster placement of a child). *If you use all 12 weeks on this, you can take up to 12 more weeks for sick child leave.
- Serious health condition (your own, or to care for a spouse, parent, parent-in-law, or child)
- Pregnancy disability leave (before or after birth of child or for prenatal care). *You can take up to 12 weeks of this in addition to 12 weeks for any reason listed here.
- Sick child leave (for your child with an illness or injury that requires home care but is not serious)
- You can also take OFLA protected time if your child’s school or childcare provider is closed due to a statewide public health emergency, such as the COVID-19 pandemic school closures.
- Military family leave (up to 14 days if your spouse is a service member who has been called to active duty or is on leave from active duty)
- Bereavement leave (up to 2 weeks of leave after the death of a family member)
Your employer must continue to give you the same health insurance benefits when you are on leave as when you are working. When you come back you must be returned to your former job or a similar position if your old job no longer exists.